The Foggiest of Notions


21, originally uploaded by silverglyph.

It’s about time I posted something here, seeing as I apparently signed up for this blog over a year ago. Call me Ishmael if you like, but that is not my name.  I am a photographer. An artist actually. I use cameras to make art, much in the same way I occasionally use pens, pencils, paint, etc. to do the same.

I have this thing about fog. The amorphous character of the stuff is what attracts me.  I suppose one could see this as an allegory to my life as an artist. Sometimes I paint. I might spend weeks, or months, a few days,  or ten minutes fascinated with what one can accomplish with the simplest of tools, namely graphite and paper.  Stopping on a dime, as it were, I can suddenly become mesmerized for weeks, or months, a few days, or ten minutes by the technical skill, upper body strength, patience and determination required to create just one image, hopefully a good one, using an 8×10 view camera and black and white film.
The one common thread that seems to stitch together my drive to create images, regardless of the tools and methods, is the simplicity of black, white and shades of gray. Thus the name of this blog.

2 Responses to “The Foggiest of Notions”

  1. dreaskydiva Says:

    Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

